Skip to content
Home » Ashtanga Hridaya

Ashtanga Hridaya

Who wrote Ashtanga Hridaya?

Ashtanga Hridayam were written by Acharya Vagbhata.

Who is the author of Ashtanga Hridaya?

Some opine that the author of Ashtanga Sangraha was Vriddha Vagbhataand the author of Ashtanga Hridaya was Laghu Vagbhata.

What is the use of Ashtanga Hridayam?

The author states that “by churning the great ocean of Ayurveda a great store of nectar, Ashtanga Sangraha’ was obtained. From that store, Ashtanga Hridaya has arisen which is more useful to all (classes) categories of students, research scholars as well as practitioners.

What is the meaning of Ashtanga Hridayam?

One of the key old core books of Ayurveda is the Ashtanga Hridaya, which is known as the “Heart or Essence of All the 8 Branches of Ayurveda.” The Ashtanga Hridayam is still used as a foundation for Ayurvedic philosophy and protocol today, providing precise recommendations in all aspects of health.

As it is one of the authentic texts on Ayurvedic Science it had attracted the attention of medical men not only within this country but also of neighboring countries such as Arabia, Persia, Tibet and Germany.

How many chapters are there in Ashtanga Hridaya?

Ashtanga Hridayam contains 6 sections and 120 chapters. Some brief explanation about Each sthan mention below.

  1. Sutra Sthana – 30 chapters Deals with the basic principles of Ayurveda, Daily regimen and seasonal regimen, diet & dietetics etc.
  2. Sharira Sthana-6 chapters -Embryology, Anatomy, Physiology etc.
  3. Nidana Sthana – 16 chapters- Etiology, Pathology etc.
  4. Chikitsa Sthana -22 chapters- line of treatment, recipes, diet and care.
  5. Kalpa Sthana -6 chapters- Pancha karma.
  6. Utara Tantra-40 chapters.

The Uttara Tantra contain following Branch ans chapters.

  • Bala Roga 3 chapters
  • Graha Roga 4 chapters
  • Urdhwanga 17 chapters
  • Salya 10 chapters
  • Damshtra 4 chapters
  • Jara 1 chapter
  • Vrisha 1 chapter

Ashtanga Hridaya was translated into almost all Indian languages. It was also translated into Arabic during the reign of Harun-al-Rashid (773-808AD)

In to Tibetan language during the reign of king Krhrisron-dehu. (755-797AD).

Luise Hilgenberg and Willibald Kirfel translated it into German and it was published in the year 1941.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *